Ekstraksi Gelatin Dari Tulang Ikan Layah Secara Asam Sebagai Alternatif Gelatin Halal

Gelatin is a food additive that is widely used in the food, medicine and cosmetics industries. However, the source of gelatin is not only the bones and skin of halal animals such as cows and goats, but can also come from pigs. To fulfill the need for halal gelatin, it is absolutely necessary to search for other sources of halal gelatin, one of which is sea fish. This study aims to extract gelatin from the bones of sailfish as an alternative source of halal gelatin. The extraction process was carried out using an acid method, where fish bones were soaked in 3% acetic acid (1:10 w/v) for 48 hours. The resulting ossein was then washed with diluted NaOH and distilled water until the pH reached 6–7. The ossein was heated at a temperature of 80°C for 3 hours to obtain a gelatin solution. The gelatin solution was then cooled, producing a gel-like gelatin preparation with a yellowish-white color. The gelatin gel was subsequently dried in a furnace at a temperature of 40–50°C for 60 minutes. The final gelatin product was a yellow-colored powder.

Authors

Publication Details

Journal
Bioscientist Jurnal Ilmiah Biologi
Published
2024-12-30
DOI
https://doi.org/10.33394/bioscientist.v12i2.13956
Primary Topic
Food and Agricultural Sciences
Type
article
Field-Weighted Citation Impact
0.00
Controls
|||
ALL TIME
JAN
FEB
MAR
APR
MAY
JUN
JUL
AUG
SEP
OCT
article

Ekstraksi Gelatin Dari Tulang Ikan Layah Secara Asam Sebagai Alternatif Gelatin Halal

Nova Kurnia, Muhammad Ilyas, Muhamad Sumarlin, Laila Mardiana Rohmatillah et al.
Bioscientist Jurnal Ilmiah Biologi
Food and Agricultural Sciences
article

Ekstraksi Gelatin Dari Tulang Ikan Layah Secara Asam Sebagai Alternatif Gelatin Halal

Nova Kurnia, Muhammad Ilyas, Muhamad Sumarlin, Laila Mardiana Rohmatillah, Muhazam Muhazam, Fenny Inas Fatinah
article en

Abstract

Gelatin is a food additive that is widely used in the food, medicine and cosmetics industries. However, the source of gelatin is not only the bones and skin of halal animals such as cows and goats, but can also come from pigs. To fulfill the need for halal gelatin, it is absolutely necessary to search for other sources of halal gelatin, one of which is sea fish. This study aims to extract gelatin from the bones of sailfish as an alternative source of halal gelatin. The extraction process was carried out using an acid method, where fish bones were soaked in 3% acetic acid (1:10 w/v) for 48 hours. The resulting ossein was then washed with diluted NaOH and distilled water until the pH reached 6–7. The ossein was heated at a temperature of 80°C for 3 hours to obtain a gelatin solution. The gelatin solution was then cooled, producing a gel-like gelatin preparation with a yellowish-white color. The gelatin gel was subsequently dried in a furnace at a temperature of 40–50°C for 60 minutes. The final gelatin product was a yellow-colored powder.

Bioscientist Jurnal Ilmiah BiologiVol. 12(2)
Openalex Percentile: Top 68%
Food and Agricultural Sciences
AI Navigator

Ask Laika to Summarize, Analyze, and Connect papers live on the map.

Summarize Papers & Methodologies

Extract key findings, datasets, and comparative methods across publications.

Benchmark Rankings & Visual Analytics

Rank top research institutions, authors, funders, topics, and journals by Field-Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI) and paper volume with instant charts.

Connect Distant Disciplines

Bridge topological clusters on the map to find hidden collaborative intersections.