Halal authentication: Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy and multivariatecalibration application for pork gelatin analysis in gummy candy

Gelatin is a substance obtained from the partial hydrolysis of collagen, which is derived from connective tissue, animal bones, and the skin of vertebrate animals, especially pork and cows. Therefore, this study aimed to find out whether the gelatin contained in gummy candy products in the Pasar Baru Bekasi is halal and not from pork. Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) spectrophotometer was combined with principal component analysis (PCA) and partial least square (PLS). The results of the score plot showed that the gelatin of pork and cows was found in different quadrants. Samples 3 and 4 were in quadrant 3, indicating similarities with bovine, while 1 and 2 were in their own quadrants, which shows that they were not obtained from pork or beef. The multivariate regression curve showed that the pattern of linear absorbance changes along with gelatin concentrations of pork and cows.

Authors

Publication Details

Journal
Food Research
Published
2024-09-05
DOI
https://doi.org/10.26656/fr.2017.8(5).573
Citations
1
Primary Topic
Identification and Quantification in Food
Type
article
Field-Weighted Citation Impact
0.23
Controls
|||
ALL TIME
JAN
FEB
MAR
APR
MAY
JUN
JUL
AUG
SEP
OCT
article

Halal authentication: Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy and multivariatecalibration application for pork gelatin analysis in gummy candy

Supandi Supandi, A.D. Septiana, N. Kusumadewi, Sofia Fatmawati
1 citations
Food Research
Identification and Quantification in Food
0.23
article

Halal authentication: Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy and multivariatecalibration application for pork gelatin analysis in gummy candy

Supandi Supandi, A.D. Septiana, N. Kusumadewi, Sofia Fatmawati
article en
1 citations

Abstract

Gelatin is a substance obtained from the partial hydrolysis of collagen, which is derived from connective tissue, animal bones, and the skin of vertebrate animals, especially pork and cows. Therefore, this study aimed to find out whether the gelatin contained in gummy candy products in the Pasar Baru Bekasi is halal and not from pork. Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) spectrophotometer was combined with principal component analysis (PCA) and partial least square (PLS). The results of the score plot showed that the gelatin of pork and cows was found in different quadrants. Samples 3 and 4 were in quadrant 3, indicating similarities with bovine, while 1 and 2 were in their own quadrants, which shows that they were not obtained from pork or beef. The multivariate regression curve showed that the pattern of linear absorbance changes along with gelatin concentrations of pork and cows.

Food ResearchVol. 8(5)
Openalex Percentile: Top 43%
Identification and Quantification in Food
0.23
AI Navigator

Ask Laika to Summarize, Analyze, and Connect papers live on the map.

Summarize Papers & Methodologies

Extract key findings, datasets, and comparative methods across publications.

Benchmark Rankings & Visual Analytics

Rank top research institutions, authors, funders, topics, and journals by Field-Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI) and paper volume with instant charts.

Connect Distant Disciplines

Bridge topological clusters on the map to find hidden collaborative intersections.